Each year, the Rotary Club of Edmond recognizes Edmond seniors by awarding up to 3 deserving students $2000 each. This year was no different with the Club selecting three Edmond seniors. The Club wishes to congratulate this year’s recipients.

Layla Molina is a senior at Edmond Santa Fe High School; she is planning on majoring in Architectural Engineering at the University of Oklahoma. Words used to describe Layla are outstanding student, kind person of integrity and someone who sets a perfect example of balance when it comes to leadership, achievement, and social appropriateness.

She has dreams to work for an architectural firm locally, but also aspires to go to the mission field and design homes, water wells, and healthcare facilities for those in need. She has such a passion for people in lesser-fortunate countries, and it is so important to her that those in need can have the same access to basic necessities that we so easily take for granted in the US.
In addition to being selected as a Rotary Scholarship Recipient, Layla was selected for this year’s Charles D. Lamb Service Above Self Award, which gives an additional $500. Layla’s future plans are a wonderful example of furthering Charles Lamb’s legacy of being truthful, fair and building goodwill and friendships that benefit all.
Kaylee Wilburn is a senior at Edmond North High School; she is planning on majoring in English with a minor in editing and publishing at the University of Oklahoma. Words used to describe Kaylee are kind, helpful and hardworking.

Kaylee plans to use the financial support from the Rotary Club of Edmond to help her achieve her goals of teaching and inspiring others to love English and reading as much as she does. She wants to help others learn and be inspired to try new things. She says, the scholarship will help her get the tools she needs to continue her education and achieve her goals.

Manuvel Sibichan is a senior at Edmond Santa Fe High School; he is planning on majoring in Finance with the goal of going into the world of nonprofit fundraising. He has applied and been accepted to OU, UCO, Baylor and UT Austin, however, he hasn’t confirmed which university he will attend. Words used to describe Manuvel are diligent, energetic and an inspiration to his peers.

Manuvel plans to use the financial support from the Rotary Club of Edmond to further his pursuit of nonprofit fundraising. He believes the funds would be able to help provide humanitarian services, encourage high ethical standards and build goodwill and peace in the world.
Charles D. Lamb Service Above Self Scholarship
The principal motto of Rotary, “Service Above Self”, best conveys the philosophy of unselfish volunteer service. The Charles D. Lamb Service Above Self scholarship was awarded to an Edmond student who exemplified “Service Above Self” through his or her contributions to the community and has future potential to continue to further the Rotary mission.

The mission of Rotary International is to provide service to others, promote integrity, advance world understanding, goodwill, and peace through its fellowship of business, professional, and community leaders. The scholarship, named in honor of Mayor Charles Lamb was awarded to Layla Molina. Lamb was known to have a servant’s heart. Lamb’s wife Cheri, said that her late husband’s “greatest joy was watching and encouraging young people.”

In response to this year’s recipient, Cheri Lamb noted, “Layla is everything that Charles stood for when it came to being selfless and serving others; he would be very proud to have her represent what this scholarship stands for.”
To find out more about Edmond Rotary Club please visit http://www.edmondrotary.org or https://www.facebook.com/RotaryClubOfEdmond/.
Picture descriptions:
Scholarship Recipients 2021: (from left to right) Layla Molina, Kaylee Wilburn, Manuvel Sibichan
Scholarship Committee & Recipients: (from left to right) Chris Berry, Randy Taylor, Christine Merideth -Committee Chair,
Manuvel Sibichan, Layla Molina, Kaylee Wilburn, Cindy Dimit – Club President, Betty DeHart, Mark Jones, Jessica Lyle,
Heather Lawerence